Firearms purchased outside of the State of Utah, i.e. online or private seller, will need to be transferred to an in-state Federal Firearms License Dealer to process the paperwork and perform the background checks.
To facilitate this process, the sending party will require a copy of our FFL dealer license. For the service of accepting and processing the paperwork, we charge $20.00 each firearm. If you have a Utah Concealed Firearms Permit, the background check is waived. If you do not possess the permit, an additional $10.00 fees is charged to conduct the instant background check.
Once the firearm is received and the paperwork completed, it take a very short period of time to process the transaction. Usually under 30 minutes.
Please contact us by phone or text with the email address for the sender of the firearm and we will send them our license.
Private Party Transfers
Private Party Transactions are not regulated by the government and can take place from one party to another where both parties are residents of the same state. You cannot sell firearms across state lines.
With that said, we recommend going though and FFL for this process as this ensure the receiving parts is not a restricted person. Selling to a restricted person is a Federal Felony. Even with a permit in hand, you do not know if it is still valid. We can check. Additionally, this also document when, where and how the transfer took place ensuring that if the firearm was use for nefarious reason in the past or the future, you can establish when transfer took place legal purposes.
Yes, there is a financial cost (same as above) associated with the transfer, but in the big picture, is some very inexpensive insurance for the just-in-case.